[Logo] JForum - Powering Communities
  [Search] 搜尋   [Recent Topics] 最新主題   [Hottest Topics] 熱門主題   [Top Downloads] 熱門下載   [Groups] 回首頁 
[Register] 會員註冊 /  [Login] 登入 

JForum 2.8.3 is out with various fixes and improvements. Read all about it here

Trying to understand JForum RSS feed
討論區首頁 » User Forum
發表人 內容
floofed

註冊時間: 2024/3/12
文章: 5
離線
I'm a newbie, in general, not just with JForum so please bear with me. My task is to check the impacts if we migrate it to the latest Windows versions and integrate it with our application. I also need to check if I can safely migrate it (v2.1.smilie to the latest JForum version (2.8.3). I read from the documentation that these are JForum's requirements:

Servlet 3.1 compatible servlet container running on Java 8, and one of a variety of databases to run on

Following the logic of a Servlet 3.1 compatible servlet container, the applicable Apache Tomcat (https://tomcat.apache.org/whichversion.html) would be Apache Tomcat 10.1.x. This version only supports Java 11 or higher. I find it inconsistent with the system requirement above which is Java 8. Can you kindly explain if the above is updated? Thank you.
udittmer

註冊時間: 2013/2/21
文章: 422
離線
Hi- I think you looked at the wrong column on that page. What it tells you is that any Tomcat version 8.0 or newer supports Servlets 3.1. I would advise to use 9.x or 10.1.x.

As to the Java version, JForum requires at least Java 8, and it runs fine under Java 11.

Be aware that starting with version 10, Tomcat implements JakarteEE servlets, not Javax servlets, so you will have to run JForum (which uses Javax servlets) in the webapps-jakartaee folder, as described in https://tomcat.apache.org/migration-10.html#Specification_APIs. if you want to avoid that, just use Tomcat 9.

Ping & Net - my free Android app for TCP/IP network diagnostics
[Email] [WWW]
floofed

離線